Park University's Howell Awards Honors Leaders, Programs

In celebration of the leadership achievements of Park University students, faculty and staff during the 2012-13 academic year, the Office of Student Life and the Park Student Government Association co-hosted the 18th annual Dr. Doris A. Howell Leadership Awards Banquet on April 10 on the University's Parkville Campus. The banquet is named for Howell, a 1944 Park graduate and an internationally renowned leader in pediatrics and hospice care.

Awards presented and the recipients (name, major/title, hometown [and high school attended, if known]):

Dr. Doris Howell Leadership Awards -- This award is given to students who distinguish themselves uniquely as leaders regardless of position or title. Recipients represent the spirit of a Park University by: pursuing integrity in every endeavor; inclusiveness as a global citizen; are responsible and respectful in word, work and conduct; are aware of the implications and rewards of their education; truthful in every action; and excellence in modeling the Park University lifestyle. --- Jeremy Everts, senior communication arts/broadcasting major, Kansas City, Mo. (attended Shawnee Mission West High School, Overland Park, Kan.) --- Ray Kincaid, junior elementary education major, Gladstone, Mo. (attended Winnetonka High School, Kansas City, Mo.) --- Shirish Malla, 2012 social work graduate currently pursuing Master of Public Affairs degree at Park, Kansas City, Mo. --- Taylor Whipple, junior psychology major, Lee's Summit, Mo. --- Zebiniso Yuldasheva, senior business administration/finance major, Chirchik, Uzbekistan

Tipton Award -- This award is given to honor an outstanding service contribution to Park University by a Park alumnus/alumna. It is named to honor Bill and Mary Lou Tipton, both 1928 Park graduates. Throughout their lives, the Tiptons served Park University through the Park University Alumni Association, Friends of the Park University Library and the Park University Board of Trustees. --- Susan Kensett McGaughey, 1974 political science graduate, Roeland Park, Kan.

Park Family Award -- This award recognizes a Park staff or faculty member who embodies the University's "family-like" culture in his/her interaction with students and fellow staff/faculty. --- Stephen Terry, director of military and veteran student services, Olathe, Kan.

Toni Griggs Award -- This award is given to honor a student who has made an outstanding contribution to Park University through leadership, service or work performance. Griggs was a Park employee who was an integral part of the University for three decades. She was a dear friend throughout the years to many Park students, faculty and staff. --- David Abeyta, senior political science/international politics major, Kansas City, Mo. (attended Liberty [Mo.] High School

C.W. Bailey Award -- This award is given in memory of C.W. Bailey, grandfather of John Shelton, a 1976 Park graduate, to students for the purpose of facilitating their education to the end that they may make a contribution to society in the tradition of Bailey. It is presented to one or two students who have distinguished themselves and exhibited the spirit of Park University. --- Brady Hansen, senior English writing major, Kearney, Mo. (attended Kearney High School) --- Hayley Knappen, senior elementary education major, Overland Park, Kan. (attended Shawnee Mission North High School)

Emerging Student Leader of the Year Award -- Awarded to the freshman or transfer student who has involved himself/herself in student life to the fullest and has sought out and accepted leadership responsibilities in an effort to improve the co-curricular life of all students. --- Teyana Miller, freshman early childhood education major, Kansas City, Mo. (attended Staley High School) --- Rick Williams, sophomore social psychology major, Herndon, Va.

Faculty/Staff Newcomer of the Year Award -- Presented to the faculty or staff member in his/her first year of outstanding service to the University. --- Laurel Hilliker, Ph.D., assistant professor of sociology, Kansas City, Mo.

Student Employee of the Year Award -- The recipient of this special award goes to an outstanding work-study student who is chosen on the basis of his/her reliability, quality of work, initiative, professionalism and the uniqueness of his/her contributions to the University. --- Dionne Boyice, senior social work major, Basehor, Kan. (attended Schlagle High School, Kansas City, Kan.); works for Synergy Services

Graduate Assistant of the Year Award -- The recipient of this special award goes to an outstanding graduate assistant student who is chosen on the basis of his/her reliability, quality of work, initiative, professionalism and the uniqueness of his/her contributions to the University. --- Samantha Gross, 2011 psychology graduate currently pursuing a Master of Communication and Leadership degree from Park, Adelaide, Australia; works in the Office of Student Life as resident director of Chesnut Hall and conference/events specialist

Student Organization Adviser Award -- This award recognizes the staff/faculty member who has provided outstanding efforts in guiding and advising student organizations. --- Mililani Hayselden, World Student Union adviser, works in the Office of International Student Admissions and Services as international program adviser, Parkville, Mo.

Park Student Government Association / Cindy Anderson Senator of the Year Award -- PSGA helps explore campus issues of importance to Park University and provides assistance to student organizations. PSGA helps ensure students' voices are heard when decisions are made about the future of the institution. --- Kelvin Igumbor, pursuing Master of Public Affairs degree, Agbor, Nigeria

Community Service Program of the Year Award -- Awarded to the student club or academic organization that made outstanding contributions to local, national or global communities through an organized service or civic engagement program. --- People to People International for its volunteer work with the Children's Mercy Project

Student Club of the Year Award -- Awarded to the club(s) that has/have made the greatest contributions to the Park community through organization, innovation and commitment to the club's purpose and activities. --- Student Nurses Association (large club -- 11 or more members) --- People to People International (small club -- 10 or fewer members)

In addition, the 2012-13 slate of Park Student Government Association officers and senators were recognized: --- Officers: Janek Sunga, president; Kelvin Igumbor, vice president; Kirby Appollis, secretary; Saruul Bataartsogt, business manager --- Senators: Christiana Amegavie; Selly Attila; Prenaam Dolou; Hayley LaGarce; Mika Mahyenga; Teyana Miller; Fabrice Nguetsara; Jessyca Pierre; Schyler Tate; Zhenghao Wu; Kirill Zhurauliou

The event included a keynote address by Don Wise, coordinator and instructor of nonprofit and community services management in Park University's Hauptmann School of Public Affairs. Wise is also co-director of Park's Center for Leadership and Coro Kansas City.

To our users and readers

Press Release Central has moved to a new server. What does this mean for you? Releases posted prior to March 1, 2012 have gone away, as has your old account registration info. Everyone will need to re-register for an account. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Want your event in our calendar?

Would you like your event published in The Kansas City Star? We’d be glad to consider it.

Enter your event


About Press Release Central

Press Release Central is Kansas City’s largest community site for press releases announcing news of all kinds: business, entertainment, sports and more. Releases stay for an extended period, so messages live a long life. And if you’re hunting for tips or information, just search to find news, names and subjects you might have missed.